My Ode to Jury Duty

Checked at 5 the night before….
My heart fell, my throat suddenly felt sore…
“You are instructed to report” the line read so bold and full of intent…
And suddenly my mind reeled with all the excuses I could have sent…

Financial Hardship has never worked before…
Doesn’t matter if your dwindling bank account affects your credit score…
A hearing impairment might be the thing to get me out of this mess…
“No problem, ma’am, we will give headphones to help you assess…”
How about saying I hate every person, place or thing?
Or maybe my PMS causes hormonal mood swings?
Yes, yes that might work, another score for womanhood…
Definitely has it’s perks…
No, that won’t do as “lady problems” won’t get you out of this round…
When your only job is to wait around…

Brought a book to sit in an uncomfortable waiting room…
Hopefully, The Book Thief will make the time zoom…
Such a good book, maybe this will work for me…
I can stand on a table and scream…
“Does anyone know what’s happening?!!”
Then they will make me leave…
As a courtroom must always remain spoiler free…

Sitting in a cramped waiting room, taking deep dramatic sighs…
Then instantly regretting taking a breath of any size…
And I want to get back on a table and yell at every girl and guy…
“Showers are always a good idea as soon as you rise!”
Maybe that will get me set free as everyone might shout…
“She’s against smelly people, get her out!!”

My body hurts, my legs feel crampy and my head is tired…
I’ll check TMZ again to see which celebrity relationship has expired…
I want nothing more than to get out of this place…
To feel the California Sunshine on my face….
Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and CNN….
Please tell me when all this will end….

Maybe I can write a story, email a friend…
Can someone send me a snack or some Excedrin….
Counting and bored, can’t wait to the end of this waiting game…
Praying that no one ever calls my name….
Yet, here I sit with nothing to do…
Hoping upon hoping that I get sent home before two….

juryduty

Leave a Reply

